The Principality of Liechtenstein began as a territory in the European Holy Roman Empire in 1719. This area was ruled by the French and Russians during the Napoleonic Wars. It began as a sovereign state in 1806. In 1806 Liechtenstein joined the Germanic Confederation and became fully independent in 1815. It had strong ties to Austria during WWI but severed those ties after the war. While remaining neutral in WWII, Liechtenstein entered into diplomatic and monetary agreements with Switzerland.


The Catholic Church is the national church in Liechtenstein. Eighty percent of Liechtensteiners are Catholic, and 6.5% are Protestant. Liechtenstein celebrates religious freedom and diversity. While the country is highly Catholic, Protestant churches–and other world religions–are allowed and exist.

The Principality of Liechtenstein does not have a pentecostal church movement. Any Pentecostals living in Liechtenstein are likely to attend a Swiss Pentecostal church in nearby Buchs, Switzerland. Liechtenstein does have two small Protestant churches, one Evangelical and the other Evangelical Lutheran. While there are no official mosques or Muslim cemeteries in Liechtenstein, the Islamic community is making efforts to change this.

Additional Facts About Liechtenstein

  • Capital: Vaduz
  • Area: 62 square miles
  • Population: 38,0114
  • Government: Constitutional Monarchy
  • Language: German
  • Currency: Swiss Franc
  • Agriculture: Wheat, barley, corn, potatoes, dairy products, and livestock
  • Industry: Electronics, textiles, precision instruments, metal manufacturing, power tools, pharmaceuticals, and wine