The region of Czechoslovakia had formerly been ruled by Hungary from the 900s AD to 1918. It was conquered by invading Nazi forces during WWII but later taken over by the Soviet Union. In 1989, the Communist Party resigned under pressure from the people. Czechoslovakia broke up into two separate countries on Jan. 1, 1993, forming the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Slovakia is a landlocked country that is home to several ethnic groups. Currently ethnic Slovaks make up 77% of the population, Hungarians 10%, Gypsies 10%, and other nationalities 3%. The government consists of a president who appoints a prime minister, and a one-house parliament called the National Council.

Church History

The Roman Catholic Church has had a tight hold on the people of Slovakia for centuries. Over 60 percent of the country considers itself Roman Catholic, and ten percent is Lutheran. Pentecostal and Orthodox churches account for a much smaller percentage of Slovakians.

The Movement Today

The Pentecostal movement in Slovakia is known as the Apostolic Church of Slovakia. Believers share the love of Christ through several ministries. The Apostolic Church of Slovakia holds tent crusades, conducts street evangelism and campus outreaches and supports a small Teen Challenge program. The church is steadily growing in Slovakia. It reports the following statistics: 24 churches with about 60 additional preaching points, 32 ordained ministers, and one evangelical seminary at the University of Matej Bela in the city of Banska Bystrica.

Additional Facts About Slovakia

  • Capital: Bratislava
  • Area: 18,924 square miles
  • Population: 5,404,000
  • Urbanization: 59 percent
  • Government: Republic
  • Languages: Slovak (official), Romany (Gypsy) with some German and Hungarian
  • Agriculture: Grains, hops, sugar beets, barley, potatoes, corn and livestock
  • Industry: Metals, ceramics, petroleum products and chemicals

« back to countries